District News

Summary of All-Class Reunion

May 20 2014


The CHS Alumni Association held it’s eighth annual reunion on Saturday, May 3, 2014 at Canajoharie High School with 150 guests and alumni attending.

The pledge of allegiance was led by treasurer Clifford Douglass, followed by the invocation given by Fred Traudt. There was a moment of silence for deceased classmates, teachers, staff and veterans

President Nancy Bowerman introduced Mrs. Deborah Grimshaw, Superintendent of Schools, who was the guest speaker. Secretary Susan Yuhasz and Margaret Schlotzhauer presented Mrs. Grimshaw with a plaque of the Alma Mater, written by Diana Jennings Atkinson, Class of 1952, which will be displayed in the lobby of the high school. Alumni

Vice President James Heiser recognized each class by year beginning with 1938.

President Bowerman stated that early this year over 400 newsletters were sent out to alumni who have expressed interest during past years in attending a reunion and provided a mailing address

In January, varsity basketball coach Phil Schoff came across some old basketball uniforms and equipment in storage and decided that at the Jan. 10th home game he planned to honor former players and cheerleaders. On Jan 10th, a Friday night those who attended the game were greeted by a sign on the wall saying “welcome alumni”. Between the JV and Varsity games Coach Schoff invited all former basketball players and cheerleaders to come to the gym floor where some pictures were taken, introductions made, etc. When the Varsity team appeared on the floor they were wearing 1980’s uniforms and wore them thru-out the game.

• Displays of arts, photography, and jouralism were presented by Marlene (Utzig) Nalli, Andrea (Austin) Montayne, Phyllis (Darrow) Lapi , Fritzi (Zimple) Paine, Donna (Williams) Short , Clifford Douglass, Betty (Jamack) , Esther Simpson and Mary (Weaver) Simpson who brought a calendar made by Lavina(Christman) Wilson.

Next year at the annual meeting elections will be held. All offices are open for election to the two year term. Some incumbent officers may want to continue in their positions and will so inform the nominating committee. Ron Robinson is Chair person of this committee. Several others will assist him. At the next annual meeting the committee will offer a slate of officers, in addition to nominations taken from the floor. To be a candidate for office, nominate a candidate or vote for a candidate, an individual must be a graduate of CHS.

Alum 2The planning meetings for the 2015 event will be posted on the CCS website and are open to any alumni wanting to assist. Our next annual meeting and reunion will be held on Sat. May 2, 2015 at the Canajoharie High School. Updates will be posted on the CCSD website .

President Nancy Bowerman offered thanks to all who helped make this reunion a success : the elected-Officers, Vice Pres. James Heiser, Secretary Susan Yuhasz , Treasurer Clifford Douglass, Asst. Treas. Walter Haig and the appointed Directors : Mary Elizabeth Mancini, Judy Diefendorf Heiser, Joyce and Harold Sitterly and newly appointed Fran Montayne Drumm. Also alumni committees Deanna Diefendorf Shultes,who coordinated the serving of food and directs the student helpers ( and has done this for several years), Jill Dingman Baker, Susan Traudt Beaver , Larry Horning and also the spouses of alumni who did not attend CHS Lynn (Charles) Countryman, Nancy(Ron) Robinson , Roberta (Walt)Haig. Elinor (Clifford) Douglass , Kitty(James) Heiser, Gail (Bellen) Failing Steve (Susan) Yuhasz , and Virgil (Judy) Heiser. She also thanked the Price Chopper for a gift certificate, Iroquois Lanes for meeting accommodations, the Courier Standard for covering our meetings and news ,the Canajoharie Fire Dept. for use of their sign to remind the community of our reunion and the Canajoharie Youth Center for providing servers for the lunch. Many thanks to all who made a donation to this organization.

The raffle drawing was conducted by Walt Haig. Winners were: 1st prize of $500 Mrs. Charles (L:ynn)Countryman, 2nd prize $300 Jackson Douglass and 3rd prize to Susan (Traudt) Beaver.

A post-reunion gathering at the Canajoharie Country Club was enjoyed by many.